# BOARD SUMMARY OPEN SESSION JUNE 15, 2020

Joey Pate, President, called the Open Session of the Marshfield Board of Education to order at 6:45 pm on Monday, June 15, 2020 at the High School Library. Members present: Kim Atkison, Mitch Espy, Mark Messick, Joey Pate, Damon Seiger, Patrick Theobald, and Amy Wilkerson. Members absent:

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve the agenda. Kim Atkison seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

Kim Atkison made a motion to certify the results of the June 2, 2020 election. Mitch Espy seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

Mark Messick made a motion to adjourn at 6:49 pm. Mitch Espy seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

The current Board was dissolved.

David Steward, Superintendent of Schools, called the Open Session for Reorganization of the Board to order at 6:50 pm.

Marta Fraker, Board Secretary, administered the Oath of Office to New Board Members, Josh Hartman, Amy Wilkerson, and Patrick Theobald.

Kim Atkison made a motion to nominate Amy Wilkerson as Board President. Mark Messick seconded. Nominations ceased, motion carried with vote 7-0.

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to nominate Dr. Patrick Theobald as Board Vice-President. Mitch Espy seconded. Nominations ceased, motion carried with vote 7-0.

Damon Seiger made a motion to appoint Marta Fraker as Board Secretary. Dr. Patrick Theobald seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

Mitch Espy made a motion to appoint Shelly Pursifull as Board Treasurer. Kim Atkison seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

Amy Wilkerson, President, called the newly reorganized board to order at 6:55 pm. Members present: Kim Atkison, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Damon Seiger, Patrick Theobald, and Amy Wilkerson. Members absent:

Dr. Patrick Theobald made the motion to approve the agenda as amended (changing Minutes for Open and Closed Session from May 20, 2020 to May 18, 2020). Kim Atkison seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Amy Wilkerson.

The Board recited District Purpose Statement.

There were no public comments addressing agenda items.

The Board Program was presented by the High School FCCLA.

Mr. Steward presented the Superintendent's Report.

Information items reviewed: Treasurer's Report/Financial Report Enrollment

Mark Messick made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda: Minutes, Open and Closed Sessions, May 20, 2020; Accounts Payable May 21, 2020 through June 15, 2020; <u>Employment Changes</u>. Kim Atkison seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

## Unfinished Business

Mr. Steward presented the Budget Update.

Dr. Lowder gave the Academic Services Report.

Mr. Henry gave the Facilities/Maintenance Report.

### New Business

Mitch Espy made a motion to approve the 2020-2021 Assessment Plan and update appendix F with new Board Policies, once adopted. Damon Seiger seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

Mitch Espy made a motion to approve the Workers Comp/Property/Casualty Insurance Renewal as presented. Damon Seiger seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

Kim Atkison made a motion to approve the Professional Certification Agreements as presented. Dr. Patrick Theobald seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

### Continued on next page

Damon Seiger made a motion to authorize a designated District Representative to sign a Memorandum of Agreement with Springfield Public Schools to the benefit or our Swim Program and to re-employ John Mullen at the stipend his retirement status will allow. Dr. Patrick Theobald seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

### Board Announcements

**Upcoming Meetings:** 

Special Session: June 29, 2020 - HS Library. 6:00 pm. Regular Session: July 20, 2020 - HS Library, 6:45 pm. Regular Session: August 17, 2020 - HS Library, m 6:45 pm MItch Espy made a motion to adjourn Open Session at 8:23 pm. Kim Atkison seconded and carried with roll call vote 7-0. (Atkison, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Seiger, Theobald, and Wilkerson).